The Turtle wavers between a painting or a sculpture – part two

Is there a painting or sculpture you’re drawn to?

Never one to be able to decide , and suffering from this affliction of being interested and turned on by so many different artistic works , it was obviously very difficult for me to choose between a painting and a sculpture , or better said two sculptures .

One of my father’s brothers was a sculptor , but unfortunately he died too young , still in his early twenties . There are only a few of his studies in charcoal , and a few sculptures left , distributed among his brothers and sisters’s houses .

The finished work of what is believed to have been one of his first studies for art school , is a beautifully done bust of Beethoven that lives on top of  my piano (that I mentioned here) at my father’s house .

So , sculpture might be in my genes . Which does not automatically translate into an ability to actually sculpt with my hands I’m afraid .

But that does not stop me from appreciating it , and as my taste goes towards classic , when I think about sculpture , what immediately comes to my mind , is the master as in  Michelangelo .

It is almost unbelievable how a big block of hard cold marble can be so ingeniously worked in a way that gives us the impression of movement , transparency , life and emotions , as he did in David (yes, that very one) and in La Pietà .

Both are so incredibly beautiful that I could not possibly choose a favourite . Between the knowledge of the human body in David (don’t forget this was done in the 16th century) and the emotions seeping from La Pietà , my heart wavers . Which one do you prefer ? Can you choose ?

I was fortunate enough to be able to admire La Pietà in loco at St. Peter’s Basilica in Rome , but I was maybe too young then to fully appreciate it .

And I do hope that one day I will be able to visit the beautiful city of Florence and the sculpture of David .

Meanwhile I enjoy them here  and  here .

Turtle Hugs

5 thoughts on “The Turtle wavers between a painting or a sculpture – part two

  1. These are my two favorite sculptures as well. And I don’t think I can choose between them. I have seen them both in person, while I was a student in college — I was 20. I think I favor David a bit because he is in Florence which is the most beautiful place I’ve ever visited in my life. (I think I posted this before you knew me: https://whatsandrathinks.wordpress.com/2015/10/10/love-across-the-ocean/)

    So my preference for David may be for non-sculpture-related reasons. La Pietà made me cry. But then again, David nearly made me cry, too, for the sheer enormity of him. If you haven’t already, do a google image search and look at the ones with people in them. He is 17 feet tall… that’s, like, nearly 3 of John. Pictures or mere knowledge of his stature doesn’t have the impact of walking into the room where he stands. I got a little choked up. xo♥

    Liked by 1 person

Come and talk to me , will you ?

