Ballerina Fireman Astronaut Movie Star ?

The Daily Prompt :

When you were 10, what did you want to be when you grew up? What are you now? Are the two connected?

Out of  four I strike two !

Can you guess which ones ? I will help you … the girl with her head always somewhere up in the clouds , and with her love for music ,  wanted to be an Astronaut and a Ballerina .

My first really big dream of “what I want to be when I grow up” was definitely becoming a prima ballerina.

I had been taking ballet lessons  since I was very young , I loved classical music , and my mother took us regularly to see ballet performances , so I really thought I would become one of those beautiful creatures I saw brilliantly performing on stage.

At the same time I got this infatuation with the Moon and all things relating to it and read a lot of books on it , deciding I would become an astronaut . This was the early seventies , the Moon was “the thing”.

By the time we had to choose in school (we do that quite early over here) if we were going into the Science or the Languages/History path ,  I had no trouble deciding for Science , because I was already very much into Math and Physics so I could become an Astronaut.

Yeah ! I always dreamed big !

But then I fell in love with the Human Body ( should have aimed for the Moon , I tell you ! ) , and Biology , and then Genetics became my new passion and I wanted to be a scientist in this emerging (then) fascinating new world .

Fast forward forty years … head is still in the clouds most of the time , and I did get on a few planes ( but never close to the Moon ) while I worked for an airline.

And I still listen to my beloved Tchaikovsky and go through my routines from time to time – when I start feeling a bit rusty – but no , no one would ever guess a ballerina under my “padding” .

As for the Genetics I did some investigation of my own and produced three beautiful specimens that turned how to be the object of what I became : a mommy .

My dream now for when I grow up is to become a surfer , let us see how that one goes 😉

Always dreaming
Turtle Hugs

 

 

19 thoughts on “Ballerina Fireman Astronaut Movie Star ?

  1. The owner of a varied mind. I like that. How can anyone be satisfied with just one interest in life? There is so much to capture one’s fancy, to allow you to soar to the ends of the universe, if only in the mind. Keep dreaming.

    Like

  2. I wanted to be a singer, an actor, and then a teacher. I never did any of those. I became a secretary and now (in my 40’s) I’m studying to become a psychologist.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You had diverse interest but the child inside you still lives. Glad to know that. I enjoyed reading this.

    See I finally made to your blog. 😀

    I miss your turtle hugs but never could figure out why!

    Love and light ❤

    Anand 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Come and talk to me , will you ?

