Day 6 – Where do you write

Where do you write? Do you prefer blogging on your laptop in a coffee shop? Are you productive in a quiet room, door closed, away from civilization? Today, describe the space where you write.

I like to write where I can be alone with my thoughts, and with no interruptions.

I usually have some music going on at the same time, but something I am already used to so that even if I am singing to it, I am not paying a lot of attention to the lyrics.

I like to write in my laptop because for me it is a pleasure to type, but I also love to put pen to paper and sometimes I write long-hand first, specially if I have more time or if I am still organizing my thoughts.

My laptop is old and very heavy and so I have it on a table, or on a high sideboard, so I can write either sitting at the table or standing up. I don’t like to sit for long periods of time, and if I am standing I can wiggle to the music 😉

The space where I do my writing is my basement. It’s cool in the summer and not as cold as the rest of the house in the winter. It has lots of natural light in the early morning and the late afternoon as it has 4 windows on one wall, and two more big windows and a glass door to the garden on the stairs.

This basement used to be a catch-all for old furniture, not in use china and stuff like that, kids toys, clothes and everything without its place. When my youngest reached the age where she wanted to give “teen parties” for her friends we weeded all this stuff and gained lots of space . This basement runs all the length of half the house and has two communicating rooms.

This gave the kids a room for lounging and eating and another one for dancing and we gave several of these parties for a number of years until they grew out of it and I got a bit tired of the loud music until the wee hours of the morning ;).  Their music, I’m ok with mine 🙂

Now one of the rooms is a holding area for stuff we don’t want to get rid of yet, and the other one is “my space” where I flee to when I need a bit of peace and quiet. And I like it  very much down here 🙂

2 thoughts on “Day 6 – Where do you write

Come and talk to me , will you ?

